If Jesus were physically among us, roaming the streets today where do you think we’d find him?

Would He be in a church building? Would He hang out with His disciples all day?

No, He would be with the lost, the broken and the hurting. Jesus would be going to the dark places to shine His light and spread the hope of the gospel. Jesus would care for and love on the poor, the sinners, the orphans and the widows.

Now the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain to which Jesus had directed them. And when they saw him they worshiped him, but some doubted. And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

In Matthew 28:16-20 Jesus called us to go and spread a passion for Him and tell people about the hope that only He can give. We are the light to this dark world. Yet most of the time we spend our time in church among other believers. I’m not saying that isn’t important for growth and fellowship but are we also going into the darkness?

I have been convicted of this lately. Am I being Christ to those around me? Am I loving and caring for the people and community that do not know Jesus? In all honesty, no. My schedule centers me around the church and we end up gathering all the “light” in one place.

We must be intentional about shining our light for Christ in the dark because in reality, they aren’t going to come to us.

We must go to them.

be brave,liss

Leave a comment